Forgot to Ask

JOS 9:14 CEVDCUS06

The Israelites tried some of the food, but they did not ask the Lord if he wanted them to make a treaty.

OBSERVATION

Israel was on a mission from God. They were sent to remove the people from the promised land. But some of the people tricked them into thinking they were from far away and had come to make peace. And, instead of asking God if this was part of the plan, they just made a peace treaty.

APPLICATION

God made that situation work out, but not the way He had commanded it. Just like how they got to the Promised Land eventually, but 40 years later than they were meant to. This time, they didn’t ask Him at all.

I can think of several times I didn’t ask God’s input on decisions I was making. And I wonder if I missed out on a blessing, or if I earned myself extra hardship by avoiding God’s feedback. I’m sure I have.

I know that God has called us not just to a one-way faith, but a relationship that is a continuing conversation :

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 NIV

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

Pray continually . . . Talk to Him all the time.

PRAYER
God, I want your input in my life. I want to follow you in everything I’m doing. Help me to keep the conversation open at all times, and to be listening for your side of it as well. In Jesus name, amen.

Leave a Reply

