Being clean- brian’s life journal 2.17.11

Acts 24:18 NIV

I was ceremonially clean when they found me in the temple courts doing this. There was no crowd with me, nor was I involved in any disturbance.

observation
Paul is on trial with the same accusers that sent Jesus to the cross. They are making wildly outlandish claims against him, saying that he is starting riots in the temple and dueling it by entering it unclean. But he did everything the right way. He didn’t overlook the ritual cleansing even though he doesn’t have to observe those things anymore. He is already clean in the blood of Christ, the rituals are more to please the priests at this point. And even though these charges could lead to death, or at least beatings and jail-time, he its calm and remains righteous in his responses to their crazy accusations.

application
It would save me a lot of trouble if I kept myself righteous in everything so that the only thing that could offend people in my life is Jesus. And when people do bring up trouble or accuse me falsely, I should act like Paul in my response : calmly and righteously.

prayer
oh, God, help me be like that. You took your trial with dignity and grace, even praying for the ones who nailed you to the cross and spit on you. So did Paul. Make me like you. I want to be one who, even in the middle of terrible times, acts with righteousness in all things.

Leave a Reply

