Spiritual Prostitutes- brian’s life journal 2.13.11

Leviticus 20:4-5 NIV

If the members of the community close their eyes when that man sacrifices one of his children to Molek and if they fail to put him to death, I myself will set my face against him and his family and will cut them off from their people together with all who follow him in prostituting themselves to Molek.

observation
Idolatry was punishable by death. Idolatry is cheating on God. We are His bride. If we put other things in His place we are cheating on Him. Even more, when we worship other gods, our even just put anything in His place, we are being prostitutes: we are whores!

application
Because we are selling our souls to false idols when we allow anything to take God’s place in our lives and our hearts.
Are there idols in my life? Are there things or areas in my life that I don’t glorify God with? I am the bride of Christ! Anything that doesn’t honor God dishonors Him. There is no middle ground.

prayer
God, help me to serve you in everything. Help me to put you first in everything I do. I don’t want to be a whore. i want to be yours wholly and completely. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

