Already forgiven for tomorrow – brian’s life journal 1.24.11

31 “Simon, Simon, Satan has asked to sift all of you as wheat.32 But I have prayed for you, Simon, that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers.”

33 But he replied, “Lord, I am ready to go with you to prison and to death.”

34 Jesus answered, “I tell you, Peter, before the rooster crows today, you will deny three times that you know me.”

-Luke 22

observation
Jesus is predicting Peter’s betrayal here, and at first I read right past this. But then I came back. Not to verse 34, but verse 32. Jesus says, “when you have turned back,” as if it’s not a big deal that Peter will fall away.
Because it’s not a big deal. Not like Peter thought, anyway. Jesus already knows the end from the beginning. And He got up on the cross, took the pain, on behalf of Peter (and everyone else). He continued with the plan, knowing that at the same time He would be paying for the sins of humanity, one of His closest followers would be deserting Him. And here Jesus hints that, though this will happen, Peter is already forgiven, and has a calling to serve the Kingdom after and beyond that sin.


application
The awesomeness about this is that I am forgiven. (You already knew that… so did I.) But I am also already forgiven for everything I haven’t done, but will do. And not that God says, “Ok, well, I did already say you would be forgiven, so I guess I’ll let that one slide, too,” but God knows already every sin I could even think of doing and forgave them all. In advance. Hallelujah, AMEN!

prayer
God, thank you for forgiving me. Thank you for loving me. There are no words, no thanks, no way to repay my graditude. Only my life. So, I will live in Your grace. I will live to love You. You amaze me more and more every day. Thank you for that, too. I praise You. In Jesus’ name. Amen.


Leave a Reply

