Burning like the bush – Brian’s life journal 1.22.11

Exodus 3:2, 5 NIV

There the angel of the Lord appeared to him in flames of fire from within a bush. Moses saw that though the bush was on fire it did not burn up.

“Do not come any closer,” God said. “Take off your sandals, for the place where you are standing is holy ground.”

observation
I see three things here.
1. The LORD is present= holy ground.
2. The bush is on fire.
3. The fire of the LORD does not burn up the bush, but it is definitely on fire.

application
Where God is, there is fire. Where God is, there is holiness. God’s fire produces holiness. Fire is scary.

I want to be LIT on fire for God. Because His fire won’t destroy me, it will make me holy. Where is God’s fire? In His presence. So if I want to be lit with the fire of God, I need to enter into His presence. A lot. Maybe all the time. Consistently.

That is Living in Truth.

prayer
Father, help me to find my way into your presence. Set me on fire. Make me holy, so I can burn for you. Burning things make light; and I want to shine Your light. In  Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

