God might make you unpopular – Brian’s life journal 1.6.11

Luke 6:22-23, 26 NIV

Blessed are you when people hate you,
when they exclude you and insult you
and reject your name as evil,
because of the Son of Man. “Rejoice in that day and leap for joy, because great is your reward in heaven. For that is how their ancestors treated the prophets.

Woe to you when everyone speaks well of you,
for that is how their ancestors treated the false prophets.

OBSERVATION
Blessed when people hate me and woe (cursing, danger) when everyone likes me? That sounds messed up. But Jesus said that’s what happened to the prophets, everyone hated them. And they even killed some of them. And Jesus says people liked what the false prophets had to say. I guess some people don’t want to hear God’s word.

APPLICATION
If everyone always likes me and never has a problem with what I’m saying, I need to check myself and make sure I am right with God. I know I’m supposed to live a life of love, Jesus commanded us to be known by our love, but that doesn’t mean I just tell people what they want to hear. We live in a broken, sinful world, and people don’t want to face their sin. They want to hear that what they are doing is ok. But we are betraying God when we support sinful behavior. We have to speak the truth. In love; always in love, but we have to be true to God. After all, He is the One who judges us. And when we speak the truth, sometimes that will male us unpopular. But I’d rather be a little less popular for standing for God, than be the most popular guy in hell. Right?

PRAYER
LORD, help me to be bold for You. To stand for what is right. And to do it in love. But keep me from choosing to ignore or deny you just to avoid losing popularity. You’re worth so much more than that.

Leave a Reply

