Making the Most of Life – life journal 12.5.10

This post was originally posted at http://lityouth.com.

Ephesians 5:15-20 NIV

Be very careful, then, how you live—not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is. Do not get drunk on wine, which leads to debauchery. Instead, be filled with the Spirit, speaking to one another with psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit. Sing and make music from your heart to the Lord, always giving thanks to God the Father for everything, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

OBSERVATION
Be careful how you live. Don’t be foolish. Don’t get drunk and act like an idiot. These days are evil. Don’t live to please the world. Instead, be wise. Make the most of every opportunity. Live to know God’s will. Sing songs of praise, and thank God all the time for everything.

APPLICATION
It can be so hard to live for God. There is so much distraction. Life is so busy. And I don’t even do everything. I don’t go to every event I would like to. I don’t do all the work I want to. There is always something more, something else to be done. But there is something more to life. More than the junk from this world. It seems like everything wants my attention so it can sell me something. It’s all marketing. I’m more than just a consumer.

I am a child of God.

And if I am a child of God, then I have a different purpose in life. The stuff offered by this world is not enough. Fun? I can have drinks and not remember if I had fun. Or I can be entertained in the presence of the LORD who died to have a relationship with me. I’ll take fulfillment in my soul over a hangover any day.

I need to live my life in a way that “every opportunity” is taken. If I am wasted, then my life, my opportunities will be just that: wasted. I will seek God daily, even with each breath. And I will be filled with the Spirit, who is God. After all, its what I was made for…

PRAYER
Lord, I pray that you would fill me with your Spirit. Give me a fresh blessing for today, so I can be renewed in my passion to live for you. Take all of me, so that I can be all that you made me to be. Amen.

Leave a Reply

