Priorities – Brian’s life journal 11.10.10

1 Corinthians 7:29-34 NIV

29 What I mean, brothers, is that the time is short. From now on those who have wives should live as if they had none; 30 those who mourn, as if they did not; those who are happy, as if they were not; those who buy something, as if it were not theirs to keep;31 those who use the things of the world, as if not engrossed in them. For this world in its present form is passing away.
32 I would like you to be free from concern. An unmarried man is concerned about the Lord’s affairs–how he can please the Lord. 33 But a married man is concerned about the affairs of this world–how he can please his wife– 34 and his interests are divided. An unmarried woman or virgin is concerned about the Lord’s affairs: Her aim is to be devoted to the Lord in both body and spirit. But a married woman is concerned about the affairs of this world–how she can please her husband.

OBSERVATION
It is better for a man or woman to stay single, and be devoted to God in everything. Getting married just adds distraction. Better to be all about God’s business than to add distractions to your life.

APPLICATION
Does that mean I shouldn’t have gotten married? Nope. It does mean that I need to be careful that I am about God’s will first. And that I don’t get distracted just trying to please my wife. (That doesn’t mean I ignore her.) But if I put God as my first priority, then I will do a better job of pleasing my wife in the process.
And what about students? What about other things? Maybe marriage isn’t part of your life right now… the principle still applies. It’s about priorities: Put God first in everything you do. Do not let the stuff in your life distract you from God. He has a job for you. You have a purpose in the family of God, and if all the junk in your life comes before God, you will never fulfill that purpose. We have to be intentional about putting God first every day. Time is short. Get to it.

PRAYER
LORD, I pray that you would keep me from getting distracted. Show me the stuff in my life that is a distraction from you and help me get rid of it. Help me live for you first. Always. In everything. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

