Even the demons got it – PB life journal 9.21.10

Luke 4:34-35, 41 NIV

34 “Ha! What do you want with us, Jesus of Nazareth? Have you come to destroy us? I know who you are–the Holy One of God!”
35 “Be quiet!” Jesus said sternly. “Come out of him!” Then the demon threw the man down before them all and came out without injuring him.

41 Moreover, demons came out of many people, shouting, “You are the Son of God!” But he rebuked them and would not allow them to speak, because they knew he was the Christ.

OBSERVATION
I always thought it was  weird that Jesus doesn’t let the demons say who he is. I mean, they say he’s God and he tells them to shut up?!? Are you kidding me? Isn’t that the point of the whole Bible and everything? Why is Jesus not  letting people hear who he is?

APPLICATION
Then I read somewhere that Jesus wanted people to figure it out from themselves, not believe based on what the demons say. And that makes sense. He even asks Peter and the disciples who everyone is saying he is. But then he asks, “but who do you say I am?” He just wants us to be able to understand for ourselves.

It’s good to hear about Jesus from other people, and read about him in the Bible. But at some point, I have to decide, who do I say that he is? Because, its totally different for me to hear that someone thinks he’s God, and for me to call him my Lord. And I think that’s something I should bother to get right. I mean, even the demons get that part right.

PRAYER
Lord, help me to know who you are in my life, and to stand firm in that knowledge.

One thought on “Even the demons got it – PB life journal 9.21.10

  1. Pingback: Even the Demons Got It « unfallen

Leave a Reply

