Nothing is Impossible – Brian’s life journal 9.19.10

Luke 1:35-37 NIV

35 The angel answered, “The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you. So the holy one to be born will be called the Son of God. 36 Even Elizabeth your relative is going to have a child in her old age, and she who was said to be barren is in her sixth month.37 For nothing is impossible with God.”

OBSERVATION
Nothing is impossible. God can do anything. Virgin having a baby? Yep. Old woman, way too old to have kids, pregnant? Yep. It can happen. Nothing is impossible with God.

APPLICATION
This passage, this event, makes me think of other accounts of God doing mighty things. An old man (Moses) raised his hands and parted the sea. A small group of 300 men led by Gideon defeated an entire army. Elijah covered an offering in water until it was soaked, and God sent a fire that consumed the offering, the soaked wood, and even the wet stones!

Nothing is impossible with God.

Planetshakers wrote a song about it. And all the lyrics are based on scripture. God can do anything. He has in the past. He does now. And He will again in the future.

He has done amazing things in and through me, and I can’t forget that. I mean, its possible, but it’s unacceptable that I forget. I must remember His deeds in the past, so that I will trust Him to do things now, and hope for incredible things to come.

PRAYER
LORD, help me to remember your glory. Let me see your works now. And give me a burning hope for what is to come… in Jesus’ name, amen.

One thought on “Nothing is Impossible – Brian’s life journal 9.19.10

  1. Brian,

    Thanks for putting your life journal entries up here. I love reading your insight. My name is Noah, and I’m just a regular guy from a small Foursquare church-plant in Maine that also does Life Journal readings. Nice to meet you.

    It’s funny, as those same verses stood out to me too on Sunday. I posted on Monday along the same lines.

    ~Peace

Leave a Reply

