PB life journal: 8/15/10

3 So I went down to the potter’s house, and I saw him working at the wheel.  4 But the pot he was shaping from the clay was marred in his hands; so the potter formed it into another pot, shaping it as seemed best to him.
5 Then the word of the Lord came to me:6 “O house of Israel, can I not do with you as this potter does?” declares the Lord. “Like clay in the hand of the potter, so are you in my hand, O house of Israel.7 If at any time I announce that a nation or kingdom is to be uprooted, torn down and destroyed,8 and if that nation I warned repents of its evil, then I will relent and not inflict on it the disaster I had planned.9 And if at another time I announce that a nation or kingdom is to be built up and planted, 10 and if it does evil in my sight and does not obey me, then I will reconsider the good I had intended to do for it.
_Jeremiah 18

observation

Jeremiah is told to go see a potter making a pot out of clay. When the clay bends the wrong way, the potter adjusts his plans and makes a pot that fits the bent clay. God says He will do the same. If His people bend their way out of the plans He had for them, He will change His plans and make something different with them. And our God promises that it works both ways: if He promises blessing and you walk away, the blessing may be changed or removed; and if He promises destruction, but you turn from sin and follow Him, the destruction can be canceled and replaced with blessing.

application

God can change His mind. I can think of so many times where I have had a promise from God. Where someone has told me they have a word from the Lord that is a prophecy of blessing, or where God has spoken to me directly in prayer or worship and given me visions and dreams and promises of blessing and direction. And these things are sure. But only as I follow Him. Not that every little mistake I make will make God take things from me, but He is not bound to bless me if I turn my back on Him and walk in sin. He is not obligated to bless me against my refusal to repent and trust in Him. I must live for Him, and always be quick to turn back to Him when I find that I have strayed off the path. Or I may end up becoming a very different pot than He planned to make me into.

prayer

LORD, help me to walk in your ways. May I always follow you and you alone. May my life be one that glorifies your name. And may I be one who is striving to be malleable and mold-able in your hands, that I may be made into what you dreamed I could be, not just a “plan b”.

Leave a Reply

