Life Journal: Aug 4, 2010

Tearing Down The Past

SCRIPTURE:

2 He did what was right in the eyes of the Lord and walked in the ways of his father David, not turning aside to the right or to the left.
3 In the eighth year of his reign, while he was still young, he began to seek the God of his father David. In his twelfth year he began to purge Judah and Jerusalem of high places, Asherah poles, carved idols and cast images.
-2 Chronicles 34

OBSERVATION:
Josiah did what was right in the eyes of the Lord. He tore down idols. He undid the blasphemies of the past. He destroyed altars to false gods. He set the country right and put them back on a path of serving God. And God blessed him and the nation for it.

APPLICATION:
What things in my life are left-overs from my sinful past? Are there things that I still need to tear down? Do I have altars in my heart and in my life that take worship from God? My worship is for the Lord alone, and anything in my life that would take that from Him and cause me to worship false things must be torn down.

PRAYER:
Lord, help me to seek out any places in my life that hold idols from my past, or even new ones from my present. Let your light be a consuming fire in my heart. Burn out all that is not for praising you. My heart beats for you, LORD. May my life show that as I turn away from all things that would distract me from you. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

